top of page

Yes, I'm still here!

Holy moly, it's been well over six months since I've updated this thing. My original ambitions don't always pan out but I'm gonna give it another shot. Plus, my followers were interested in me blogging!

Anyway, if you're looking for well-crafted writing perfection, haha you probably won't find that here. I've got enough anxiety in my life as it is that I'm giving myself permission to just do some writing about sewing, and not give a fuck how put together it is. So here I am :)

Anyway, what's been happening in the past 6+ months for Glitter Grandpa? A lot. I did some really really big work on my mental health (still am) and for the first time in several years didn't feel totally depressed (still working on it.) I bought a house and adopted a dog. Which, let's be real. I've been scheming to buy a house for the past few years so I COULD get a dog. I got out of rental hell, which is a huge privilege I'm very grateful for. Her name is Emma, she's a 1 year old deaf pit mix :) I adore her and love her. We've had some big hurdles, but she's still perfect.

In my sewing life, I haven't done a ton of projects for myself lately. Buying a house and adopting a dog have really sucked up a lot of the time I would normally use to sew, but I'm slowly getting back to it as I settle into my new sewing space too. I did make a ridiculously awesome denim jumper and a couple of tank tops. Wow, I don't give myself enough credit. I also wanted a really rad ensemble for People's Pride Pittsburgh. See below...

There has been a LOT of development on the business side of Glitter Grandpa. I've had a binder drafting tutorial on the back burner for quite some time, and finally gotten back to it now that I'm in a much better place. I've tested it with a few more individuals and am *almost* ready to start having others test it! For the sake of clarity- this tutorial is to draft a custom binder, based on your specific measurements. It is not a pattern, but it will include construction instructions. I am SUPER pumped about this, and can't wait to see what others think. Stay tuned for more info on that.

And I think that is a good place to end things :)


bottom of page