top of page

What exactly are we doing?

CW: Mention of menstrual hygiene products

Since Cat Conley and I from Steer Queer decided to go into business together selling my garments on their website, a lot has happened! I want to update you all on what we've been working on and accomplished thus far.

We spent the past six months or so making very difficult decisions on things like the queerest fabric choices and how much glitter is appropriate for an underwear photo shoot (the answer is all the glitter). In all honesty though, we've had about a billion "business meetings," meaning impromptu meet-ups and phone calls in which we discuss how we can empower queers through well fitting and flattering underwear. And so, that's what we've tasked ourselves with doing.

I spent the first few months testing my boxer pattern from the lovely pattern makers, Stitch Upon a Time. I tested my own pattern modifications, like removing an extra seam up the butt so that your cute bums are the most comfortable. I've got a few more mods up my sleeve that I'm not ready to roll out just yet, but plan to offer down the road. For example, boxers that easily accommodate for a pad, a packer, or tucking.

While I sorted out my pattern modifications, Cat and I also started recruiting models. We sought to be very intentional in our recruitment efforts, noting the lack of representation in many forms of diversity in other similar ventures. It was important to me that we have more than just small-framed, masculine presenting white afab (assigned female at birth) models. So, recruitment was a word of mouth effort in our queer community, relying on contacts of both mine and Cat's. I feel pretty confident that our models reflect a wide range of styles, sizes, and identities, though I know there is room for improvement and I am committed to working on it.

For their time and participation, each model received a pair of custom boxers, made to their measurements and specifications. And wow, I did not expect for us to have more people volunteer to model for a free pair of boxers than we could handle! I honestly would have included everyone if I could have, and I do hope to eventually work with those we weren't able to include.

We did have some really rad models though. A lot of them are artists or performers of some variety in our community, and Cat will be featuring profiles of them on their website in the coming months.

After securing models, Cat went to work on planning a photo shoot while I got to work on sewing test pairs. Yes, I constructed 12 pairs of test boxers just to be sure we had the pattern down pat for fit before diving into the good stuff. I made my way around town from house to house (or some came to me) for fittings and was really pleased to find that there were really minimal changes needed.

SO MANY TESTER BOXERS.

With the fittings completed, all that was left for me to do was stitch up the final boxers for the models. There was a good couple of weeks (and probably many more ahead of me after this) of sewing nothing. but. underwear. Oh well, it's a good thing I enjoy it!

Babes!

We had our photo shoot in mid-November and after that, the custom underwear was in the hands of the models! I was really pleased to get raving reviews from some of our models. I have to admit I have a bit of (re: a lot) of imposter syndrome, and doubt my abilities and work. It's just cool and affirming to know that something I'm making is appreciated by queer folks.

more babes!

Since the shoot, Cat and I have been putting the final edits on photos, pouring over details for the website, and preparing to accept orders! We aren't accepting orders online yet, but plan to be live before the end of the month. I did go to my first maker's event with Cat last weekend though, and sold our first pair of boxers at the hyperlocal: queer craft market! I'm also going to give a go at some live sewing this weekend at the Procrastinator's Ball. We hope to see you there!


bottom of page