top of page

Who is glitter grandpa?

Has anyone ever asked you to describe your aesthetic in some non-sensical way? In one word, with a GIF, with a celebrity name, so on and so forth. Glitter grandpa started simply enough like that. A couple years ago my ideal aesthetic materialized in a facebook comment on such a thread, and I dubbed the look "Richard Simmons meets Mr. Rogers." Richard's flair for sparkle and drama meets colorful knitted cardigans in a sweet comb over. Rogers soft and evenly spoken words of wisdom meets Richard's gender-bending extravagance. Two men whose reputations, expression, and aesthetics inspire me to perform masculinity and femininity in unexpected, and sometimes taboo ways.

Fast forward to September 2017, and once again I found myself entertaining a discussion about aesthetic ideals following a blog about a newly emerging style trend of "toddler grandmas." I read through the comments of people relating to the playful and defiant style, and it dawned upon me that a similar, albeit slightly different play on words would more succinctly capture my ideal aesthetic: glitter grandpa.

And so, glitter grandpa is me. It is my internal sense of my desired expression, and when I don't feel beaten down by societal expectations of my gender it is my external expression. Glitter grandpa is a goal, and it's about growth. About learning to shake off internalized gender expectations so that I can walk down the street in short shorts with brightly painted nails and a swing in my step. And sometimes, its about sewing up a floral cardigan and bedazzled button-up for my own pleasure, whether or not I ever feel safe enough to wear it outside the house.

As I explore a new part of myself through blogging and selling things that I make, it makes sense to me that glitter grandpa would be a part of that. I want to instill this daring and thoughtful style into the items that I create and the content I generate. I want to shine a light on this overlooked facet of my identity, and in doing so I hope that it empowers others to appreciate overlooked parts of yourself.


bottom of page